2018 Next-Generation Pharmacist® Awards

2018 Next-Generation Pharmacist® Awards
The Next-Generation Pharmacist® awards program, co-founded by Skidki-na-vse® and Parata Systems, is now in its ninth year. This national awards program honors pharmacists, technicians, students, and industry advocates who are defining the future of pharmacy. Since 2010, the program has generated over 2,700 peer nominations across all 50 states, and more than 200 pharmacy leaders have been named finalists or winners.

The 2018 awards gala will be held on Friday, October 5, at the State Room in Boston. This culminating event is a chance to recognize the finalists for their leadership, passion, and commitment to an evolving health care industry. Finalists and category winners will receive their awards and be recognized by their peers for this exclusive industry honor. One winner will be named the 2018 Next-Generation Pharmacist®, the program’s top honor, and will be featured on the October 2018 cover of Skidki-na-vse®.

The 2018 Next-Generation Pharmacist® program includes 10 categories. Nominations may be submitted through May 31, 2018. An independent panel of esteemed judges, chaired by Skidki-na-vse editor-in-chief, Troy Trygstad, Pham D, PhD, MBA, will evaluate entries. Up to three finalists will be named in each category. These finalists will be featured in the September 2018 issue of Skidki-na-vse® and on .

See Official Rules at , for additional eligibility restrictions, prize descriptions, restrictions, and complete details. Sponsors: Pharmacy and Skidki-na-vse, LLC and Parata Systems, LLC ("Sponsor" or "Sponsors").

2018 Award Categories

2018 Civic Leader
Civic Leader of the YearAwarded to a pharmacist who donates his or her time and resources with the principal objective of improving the community in which he or she resides and/or the pharmacy operates, particularly when the vision is related to pharmacy care and the health outcomes of the community.

2018 Entrepreneur
Entrepreneur of the YearAwarded to a pharmacist who owns a pharmacy in whole or in part and who demonstrates an entrepreneurial spirit in his or her drive and ability to grow the business or whose advocacy has helped create a better environment for future pharmacy growth.

2018 Future Pharmacist
Future Pharmacist of the YearAwarded to a student pharmacist who demonstrates spirit and passion for the profession, primarily through academic achievement, in conjunction with one or more of the following criteria: industry advocacy, patient advocacy, technology innovation, civic leadership and/or environmental stewardship with regard to pharmacy.

2018 Health-System Pharmacist
Health SystemAwarded to a pharmacist who works in a health-system setting, such as a hospital, long-term care facility, home care, or a health maintenance organization, and has demonstrated improvements in the coordination of care.

2018 Lifetime Leadership
Lifetime AchievementAwarded to a licensed pharmacist who has been practicing in a pharmacy setting or has served the industry in a professional capacity or leadership or advocacy role. The nomination should demonstrate that the nominee has made significant contributions to the pharmacy industry overall that resulted in meaningful improvements in the quality of patient care and improved delivery models and pharmacy’s role on the health care team.

2018 Patient Care Provider
Patient Care Provider of the YearAwarded to a pharmacist whose focus on patient care and customer service, through a specific occasion, personal action, or activity, has established himself or herself as an exemplary patient advocate.

2018 Rising Star
Rising Star of the YearAwarded to a pharmacist who is defining the future standard of pharmacy practice by his or her professional practice and/or by advocacy in the pharmacy industry. To be eligible, a nominee must have been practicing for at most 5 years. (Student pharmacists should be nominated for the Future Pharmacist category.)

2018 Specialty Pharmacist
Specialty Pharmacist of the YearAwarded to a pharmacist whose primary focus is to provide specialty services and disease management for patients with complex or rare diseases who are being treated with high-touch, high-cost specialty medications. This pharmacist’s responsibilities include the efficient delivery of drugs that require special handling and storage, patient education, and promoting adherence.

2018 Technician
Pharmacy Technician of the YearAwarded to a certified pharmacy technician who demonstrates the highest professional standards of patient care and performs consistently and reliably as a valued member of the pharmacy team..

2018 Technology Innovator
Technology Innovator of the YearAwarded to a pharmacy owner, manager, or pharmacist who successfully leverages pharmacy technology tools to advance patient care standards, business profitability, and/or employee productivity.

2018 Next-Generation Pharmacist:
The program's top honor, "Next-Generation Pharmacist," is selected from among the winners in the pharmacist categories and awarded to the pharmacist who is defining the future of pharmacy by his or her uncompromising vision for a specific pharmacy or the industry overall. Winner in this category must be a licensed pharmacist.

Previous Award Winners and Finalists:

2017 Winners

2017 Finalists

2016 Winners

2016 Finalists

2015 Winners

2015 Finalists

2014 Winners

2014 Finalists

2013 Winners

2013 Finalists

2012 Winners

2012 Finalists

2011 Winners
2011 Finalists
2010 Winners

2010 Finalists )
Click here to see other Next-Generation Pharmacist™ videos.